tarkis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and I ran

there was a frost last night.. the ground all crunchy when you walk.

I wish I had frosted last night... it would be the protective barrier to life... keep me enclosed.

But no... I can't get to that place,,,, so I am not protected,

and my dreams... the old man was there... he found me sitting on the edge of the street curb crying.

I was little and my face was dirty with those clean streaks that tears make when they run down your dirty face.

My hair was long as when I was young and in braids on either side of my head... the little kid kind of braid with hair whisping out from the braid as it does if you have played too hard.

My knee was skinned... my sock was torn... my dress was dirty.. and I was sooo sad.

The old man sat down without saying a word.

I looked up at him and wanted him to say something that would make everything better... but knew he did not have the words.

and so we sat... just two people looking out at the world.

but I felt so much better just knowing he was there.

eventually I slipped my hand in his and I felt the squeeze as he acknowledged it... me.

a slight smile began on his face... almost hidden in the creases oh his face...

and he lifted his other hand and said and pointed..

a butterfly ...

and it came and landed on his hand.

I remember smiling... but just a little... and new tears started rolling down my cheeks.

The butterfly was so pretty... and I its contrast.

I quickly dropped the old mans hand... what was I doing.

I jumped up and started to run... fast... the air hurt as I breathed in.

The old man called to me... Stop.. I can't run so fast.

But I ran on and on... until I woke myself and needed my asthma medicine.

and I am sad this morning and not sure why.

6:24 a.m. - 2003-04-24

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mysoulchose
paganscream
planetqueen
jiltedsoul
frambuesa
tou-mou
picean-dream
aschoom
bi-pet