tarkis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The joy of ironing

Last night it was suppose to rain... the sky certainly looked as if it would.. that smell was in the air.. so I decided it was time to do... the ironing.

I had put it off for a long time, winter had come so suddenly last autumn that my son's shirts were still in the pile of laundry from then. I had seen no need to iron them until he could actually wear them...

my theory of life, I guess... don't do anything until it is absolutely necessary.

well.. last night.. it was time.

I had that certain attitude one should have while ironing.

You know the very comforting feeling of the steam in your face.. the smells.. and there should be thunder or rain.

And i ironed...and as the call for more hangars went out... I felt very satisfied looking at the pile of newly ironed clothes... and there is that tiredness that comes from ironing... that very contented type tiredness and also that thrill of... oh.. so that's where that went.. or ... oh... I had forgotten all about that.

Ironing... such a different mindset for me. I have known one other person who understood that whole ironing thing. Though she irons once a week.. she irons everything. she says it is therapy.. and I think I understand.

but we know... therapy and I are not friends.. so my ironing time is more like an event. Now... we will do the "ironing"

While I ironed, my son and I watched a really stupid movie about a temp needing to mail a letter... that's really what the movie's theme was. actually needing to mail 17 letters.. and yes, the movie ended with the mailing of those 17 letters.

and I am writing an entry about ironing clothes.

Do you think there is something lacking in my life?

6:05 a.m. - 2003-05-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mysoulchose
paganscream
planetqueen
jiltedsoul
frambuesa
tou-mou
picean-dream
aschoom
bi-pet