tarkis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

how quickly they grow up

we went to have senior pictures taken yesterday and for the first time...as I looked at the untouched pics in the difital camera... I saw my son.

He's not a little boy anymore.

I saw him as the young man he has somehow turned into.... I'm not sure when.

We went to eat Mexican after and I saw him differently. He told me I had done a great job as a Mom.. especially since I had very little help and nothing from childhood to draw upon.

I smiled and really looked at this fine young man sitting before me and thought how truly lucky I am.

but the best was after we came home... we sat listening to the news and he was sad.. really sad... sad for people .. sad for what is happening in the world.. sad.

Someplace along the way my son.. who I would have sworn did not care for anything that did not actually touch him had developed a social conscience..

Yea, I have done a good job.. or would he have turned into this person he is now without me

Probably

and it really doesn't matter.. it only matters who he is now... not how he got to this place.

but it always feels nice to be able to say... That's my son.

6:22 a.m. - 2004-08-17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mysoulchose
paganscream
planetqueen
jiltedsoul
frambuesa
tou-mou
picean-dream
aschoom
bi-pet