tarkis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I can do it myself ... I can, I can, I can.

I decided to finish a project yesterday that I had been putting off for the longest.

Funny how time passes... you put something off and then before you know it.. months have passed.. the problem has now become a real job.

It was a simple thing. I would change my toilet seat... I had an old wooden one that tank condensation had turned the metal hinges green... and it was old... and the wood was yucky... and I had a new green one waiting in the closet.

so I get out the screwdriver... Hmm.. not going to work.. so I get out the pliers to hold the whatever it is on the back... no luck.

OK.. underneath is a plastic round thing.. should be just a matter of turning that.. now to find the right tool.

Nope... after much thinking and trying different tools.. Oh yes.. I have many tools... my son's dad made sure of that. 3 big tool boxes...I know not the names of any.

Here's a thought... Why don't they write the names on them...

Anyway... time for the big thoughts... I get out a drill.. and try different things.. like maybe it could unscrew the screw... doesn't work.

OK... here's a big file thing.. maybe I could file the plastic thing off... then it would just slide out...

Wow... long time spent trying to get in just the right place... with very little progress.

A saw... broke the blade... didn't work anyway.. I think it was made for wood.

and then the phone call from my brother.

I'm sorry I am not there.. why don't you call your friend...

NO! No! No! I can do it myself!!!!

Ok then.. go get a hacksaw...

Hmmm... what does that look like..

he told me and of course I had one in one of my tool boxes... and of course it had to be the one I had left outside in the rain and it was rusted..

though I am not so sure it wasn't rusted before then and it was old... very very old.. probably ancient.

But.. I got it out and started to work... after seeing very little progress over what seemed to be a very long time... the rusted blade broke.

So now to Home Depot to get a new one... it is cute.. a Junior Hacksaw they call it for metal to get into tight little places. I am thrilled with my purchase.

I even buy extra blades because this is me after all.

So excitedly.. yes it doesn't take much... I get home, put it together and start to work.


Ok.. I had been hoping it would work just a bit easier but now I am seeing progress.

and there it is.

I cut right thru the screw... take that. You didn't know who you were dealing with.

and as I sat in my big over stuffed chair.. drinking some chamomile tea...

smiling... contented.

I DID IT MYSELF.

and I don't care if it did take the whole day.

I don't.

7:25 a.m. - 2006-08-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mysoulchose
paganscream
planetqueen
jiltedsoul
frambuesa
tou-mou
picean-dream
aschoom
bi-pet