tarkis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Not always what it seems

I hate Garbage Day... I hate taking the garbage out to the curb.

When my son is home it is his job and of course.. since he is not home.. it is my job.

So today being Friday, Garbage Day, I groaned looking out my window to see snow on the ground.. Yes..we are to get Lake Effect.. Not to worry - I bought a new shovel last night.

So, as I gathered everything up I guess I felt a bit sorry for myself that I have to do this.. there is no one to do it for me.

That is until I stepped out, garbage bags in hand.

The quietness hit me first.. that quiet of snow softly falling.. the air was not nearly as cold as I expected.. actually quite refreshing.. I took the bags to the curb and then stood there wondering... what could i do next to delay my retreat into my house... I walked over to the creek across the street.. it babbled and looked quite beautiful flowing over rocks and in between crevices.. I watched for awhile .. happy to have this moment... My apple trees still have not lost their leaves.. so the light snow on the branches looked to me as if they were all dressed up to start the day off... I went over and patted their trucks.. You will have to give it up soon... it happens each year... I thought they answered as young children might.. I don't want to go to bed yet..

Reluctantly I came back into my house...

Garbage day... maybe I should not be so quick to hand it off to someone else..

7:23 a.m. - 2007-11-16

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mysoulchose
paganscream
planetqueen
jiltedsoul
frambuesa
tou-mou
picean-dream
aschoom
bi-pet