tarkis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Such a Very Sad Forest

Yesterday... what a great day... spent hiking in the woods... first day for the walk in the woods and it was just the way it is suppose to be... almost.

It was a long hike...we were in woods that we really weren't sure of... he had found the trails but hadn't been on them for years and had forgotten most of it.

I was sad to see the logging that was going on in this forest... made it seem, without the green that had not started to grow yet because of the bad winter, it made it look so manufactured... and it was... the trees were in lines and all the same kinds except for the ones that had grown anyway... seeds dropped from the birds or blown by the wind..

This first hike made me sad and I held his hand tighter... how could I explain that the trees... they didn't talk to me like they do in the old forests of time... the trees felt sad... almost as if their fate was known... how could I explain to him that it was not him that was making me so quiet.. it was because the trees were so unhappy.

He asked why I touched certain trees... a gentle caress... how could I explain that the tree was sad and I wanted the tree to know I understood... I wanted to curl up in their roots and let them know they were wanted.

and then the sound... I looked at him to see if he heard it to... he didn't. but the sound ... the sound of nature whispering to me.. the cries of the forest...

so many trees had tipped over... their roots exposed.. I asked how could this havve happened... giant trees... just left there bare...bark gone.. they had fed the deer and all the little animals this terrible winter... you could see the where the bark was eaten away.

and the giant trees... so many were tipped over... they had given their lives... and it was almost as if the whispers in the forests that I heard... it was the trees asking .. how much more did they have to give up... why take their young.. their strongest... the trees were so sad.

I have never felt quite that way in the forest... never felt so close to the trees... only in my dreams. Never heard their whispers as I did yesterday.

He paused and looked at me... he held my face in his hands and said he was glad he had brought me on the first walk of the season... he loved how my face looked when it was surrounded by what I loved. I smiled and he said he loved my smile. He said he loved me.

and that made me even sadder in this so very sad forest.

7:52 a.m. - 2003-05-04

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mysoulchose
paganscream
planetqueen
jiltedsoul
frambuesa
tou-mou
picean-dream
aschoom
bi-pet