tarkis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Blackberries and hard work are good for the soul

the bridge is gone.. and my muscles and joints ached last night, I would have felt very old when it hurt to even move my fingers if my son who is many many years younger than I did not sit in pain also.

my son and I worked hard and then after... after the work outside was done.. after my brother showed up to help with the last ... at least until the man comes to dig out the creek.. we found a patch of blackberries.. a big patch.. with beautiful plump juicy blackberries... and did I become the adult who says lets pick them and make a pie out of them.. or put them in a bowl to eat with cereal.. no, I did not become that adult...

no... the 3 of us like little children picked and ate...

my mother came out and watched us oohing and aahing over " such a big berry" or "look at this one" but more importantly we were in the moment... fully in the moment of eating blackberries fresh from the bush and smiling and laughing and happy.

It was a moment I will remember...

and it nourished us in more ways than just food for our aching bodies....

and now today.. when the rains come,,, my fingers are crossed that we won't be flooded toooooo much.

8:42 a.m. - 2003-07-27

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mysoulchose
paganscream
planetqueen
jiltedsoul
frambuesa
tou-mou
picean-dream
aschoom
bi-pet