tarkis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

and my hollow flooded for the first time in my life

the hollow flooded yesterday.. it hasn't done that in all my life and my Dad says it only happened once in his life...60 years ago... and he is 80.

everyone always says... when the water gets high and there is flooding everywhere... Are you alright... because of the creek across the road.. and I so confidently ( as long as the wet weather creek between our houses is dug out) I so confidently say... of course.. that creek never floods.

and yesterday it did and it terrified me. I was lucky though... it stopped coming over its banks at the house next door.. looking out from my porch I could see it was even with the top of the banks and then the torrential rain stopped and I was saved.

Cars and trucks were lined up on my road as they had no place to go... they couldn't even back up because it was flooded behind also..we were just high enough for maybe 1/4 mile of the road..that it didn't flood the whole hollow... and I was one of those lucky ones.. but I was frightened..

and i was frightened that I had to be the one in control... I had to protect my son and my parents.

My brother called but he couldn't get to me.. L called... he wouldn't have been able to get to me also.. though he didn't even suggest that.. He just wanted to make sure I was alright..

and i almost called D... when it got dark because that was the worst of it... when it was dark and I couldn't see what was happening.. just hear the roaring of the water..

but I didn't...

but this morning the water is down and I will go out and brave the mosquitoes to see if I am able to get anyplace today or not... when I went to get the paper... mmmmm... the paper came through... so there is a way...this morning a vehicle stopped and asked how he could get to the interstate.. he has been wandering in the hills trying to get someplace but there are bridges out and roads washed away and others still underwater...

unitl the next rain... today will be an adventure and at least for the moment I don't feel so frightened..

until the next rain... later today.

why do i have to always go it alone?

7:44 a.m. - 2003-08-10

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mysoulchose
paganscream
planetqueen
jiltedsoul
frambuesa
tou-mou
picean-dream
aschoom
bi-pet