tarkis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

the crucible

My son and I and J went to see the Crucible last night. What an amazing play and James' friends did an outstanding job.

It was long... very long and yet not a sound was heard.. I actually felt tears.. for the sadness of the time and man's inhumanity to man in the name of religion and god.

How humbling it is to look back.. where we came from... and to look at the times now.. from comments like the tsunami was gods retribution... as is aids.. the end times are upon us..

I was saddened last night for the memories of what we are and how little we have understood of history.

all becuase of an over wet spring and summer many years ago that produced a crop of moldy wheat.. I think it was.. tainted food.. some were susceptible.. the youngest first displaying odd behavior and tendencies.. hallucinations.. those that for one reason or another were immune or did not eat .. or were left...were jailed and burned as witches.. heretics.. blasphemers.. adulterers.. sinners.. for their sin had kept them alive ..

tears ran down my cheeks last night as I watched.. what then they knew nothing up.. but how fear and religion and everything done by the very pious.. or manipulative elders became the rule... and should they .. those from outside the territory coming in to explain or judge what was happening.. should they succomb.. it was because a spell had been put on them..

and for the truly righteous.. it was prison or a noose.

I cried last night.. for all those.. that did not understand.. that got caught up in the times and in their own way.. many thought they were acting as the gods of their religions would have wanted them to do.. is it so different today?

I would have liked to have sat next to dan or johnny and had great discussions of this...

instead I sat next to John.. and his gentleness tempered my inner anger and we discussed.. He had once thought to be a protestant minister... instead chose a path of music.. my son and he talked last night of music and theory.. my son talked freely.. it was nice to see.

and then he brought me home.. my son went on to a friends... I tensed.. he was bringing me home to an empty house.. he kissed me good night and left.. not even stepping inside the door.

thank you gods for a situation that I did not nor was I ready to deal with. I knew that the moment he kissed me and I felt nothing,

8:55 a.m. - 2005-01-30

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mysoulchose
paganscream
planetqueen
jiltedsoul
frambuesa
tou-mou
picean-dream
aschoom
bi-pet