tarkis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

was it just my aloneness or eating avocado late

the noise awakened me

like fingernails rapping a tune gently at my door.

not the knock which says I am at the door, please answer.. that would have frightened because it would have woken me from sleep, but not nearly as much as this did.

I sat up and held my breath.. not wanting the sound of me getting mixed in with the sounds of the night.

I heard then the gentle tapping along the side of the house... and my fear even more real.

I grabbed my cell ... ready to tap in 911 and leave the line open... My eyes became accustomed to the darkness of the night.. I was afraid to turn on the lights.

and so I wandered...quietly.. I heard the tapping from a distance now.

Breathe in..... Breathe out
Breathe in.... Breathe out.

Rhythmn...

I watched the kitten's behavior.. was he startled more by me or the sound...

and I remembered the figure I saw in the shadows as I checked the locks before going to sleep... He wasn't real.... at least I thought... a quick glance... an impression... non frightening.

I am accustomed to seeing that which isn't easily seen.

and so .. with no one to call... I smiled, breathed in and out consciously one last time and went back to sleep.

and this morning a great laugh greets the morning... I was frightened last night by something I should not have been.... How silly.

The gentle tapping... should have been my first clue.

7:03 a.m. - 2006-05-01

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mysoulchose
paganscream
planetqueen
jiltedsoul
frambuesa
tou-mou
picean-dream
aschoom
bi-pet