tarkis's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

it is time.. yes, it is time

today we will be putting down two of my cats.... the old lady whose time has come and the calico who always was sickly.

I have been putting this off...

the old lady we have had for over 11 years and she was old when we got her. She had lived her entire life with an old lady who died, long visit at the spca ( kittens tend to get adopted much quicker )and then with us. She is now blind, arthritic and everything is an effort.

the calico was the runt of a litter we had when my son saved a cat that had been dropped off by the side of the road and was being tormented by some dogs... needless to say.. she was pregnant and shortly after gave birth and then promptly got hit by a car.

I nursed the calico to health... she was so tiny.. she would have died... and now she will.

It is the right thing to do. It is time. It is time.

the kid asked if I would be alright... I asked if he would be alright. It is the right thing to do.. It is time.

and as I look to the green this morning.. the sun sparkling thru the leaves and the birds singing their morning melody.. I am reminded ... the kid is leaving in less than 2 weeks.

how quickly time passes...

and the number two.

it is his 2nd year at university.
it has been 2 years since I saw he.
I will be left with 2 cats after putting down 2 cats.
and we will dig two cat graves.
today we will put up 2 birdhouses.
and make 2 trips to get rid of stuff that I could burn if I wasn't such a chicken and afraid of fire.

and the calmness that has settled in my soul is exactly what I want and need.

so now.. time for morning coffee outside on the back porch welcoming the quietness of the morning...


7:23 a.m. - 2006-08-06

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

mysoulchose
paganscream
planetqueen
jiltedsoul
frambuesa
tou-mou
picean-dream
aschoom
bi-pet